Steve Landfield Letter to Mayor Fife

Guest Guest

My Letter to Mayor Fife & The Council Today:  

Mayor Fife and Council, I am a five -year resident of SteelWorks Apartments and an environmental safety instructor, who is well aware of the danger of Agent Orange, yet for some unknown reason you have done nothing to oppose the proposed toxic sludge dewatering and concrete plants, which figure to be located right across the street from us. I have to teach Tuesday night, so please accept these written comments in lieu of my attendance at the scheduled town meeting. I cannot understand why you would allow such a dangerous plant to be located directly across the street from hundreds of Harrison residents. 

You couldn't wait to develop this area (despite failing to also improve the infrastructure like the constantly overflowing storm sewers on Frank E. Rodgers Blvd S.), but now you obscure the plans and don't take steps to protect us! Why did you mislead us about these plans during your recent re-election campaign? Was it that important to be re-elected mayor?   If there is one job a mayor should do, it is to protect the residents of his town from a cancer-causing neighbor, and you are NOT doing that! If you can't or won't protect hundreds of your constituents from a terrible toxic waste plant to be located directly across the street from us, PLEASE RESIGN and let's elect someone who will.

This is a bad look for you and not the legacy you want. I know that former Harrison mayors usually get something named after them. Perhaps we will someday have the James A. Fife Dewatering Plant here in Harrison?  I certainly hope not.

Steve Landfield 

Guest Harrisonian