May 2nd Meeting, To all Harrisonians

Michael Fernández

The Meeting on May 2nd ended with a resident at the podium, waiting to speak. It's just not right.

Here is a copy of the statement I made last night:

Mayor, Council, My name is Michael Fernández and I am a Business owner on 31 Harrison Ave. and a property owner of 27 & 29 Harrison ave. I am also the founder of Friends of Harrison P.A.C.

I approach the Council today to express my Concern; of the Council and Mayor;

for their over seeing of this Harrison Redevelopment Board;

under NJ State Statute, 40A:12A-27. (Oversight of governing body over redevelopment agency).

I would like to state my reasoning for such Concern:

1). for what I honestly believe is the most relevant action.

The knocking down of JFK stadium;

Allowing a Developer, to displace the Children’s Recreational fields, without securing a proper place for them; from little leaguers to seniors in High School all were affected.

The Harrison Soccer team was #1 in the State for the last 3 years, & this year they didn’t even place. Possible scholarships were lost for these kids. That’s just not right.

When anything gets between our kids, THERE SHOULD BE NO EXCUSE GOOD ENOUGH, & NO COMPROMISES TAKEN!.

The developers should have waited.

The Council should have stopped this from happening.

When the council became aware that the SCC was running into difficulties, immediate Action should have been taken to stop the developer.

May I remind the Council? they appoint each member of the Redevelopment Board/Agency.

Harrison’s children were left without a field to play football, soccer, baseball, softball.

The traditional high school homecoming festivities were cancelled.

Harrison’s athletes lost home field advantage and possibly scholarship opportunities.

Residents were deprived of recreational facilities.

2) The Harrison Redevelopment Board/Agency, appointed Developers to land in the redevelopment zone some years ago.